National Philanthropy Day
Celebrating Hope

November 17, 2022 | 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Herbst Theatre & Lobby
401 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94102

5:30 pm - Wine Reception & Passed Hors d’oeuvres
6:30 pm - 2022 Honoree Award Ceremony
7:30 pm - Sparkling Wine After Reception

National Philanthropy Day is a special day to recognize and pay tribute to the meaningful contributions that philanthropy — and those active in our own philanthropic community — make to our lives, communities and world. This year, AFP Golden Gate will join chapters across the country and around the world on November 17 to present National Philanthropy Day 2022 in person! To honor individuals, organizations and businesses in the San Francisco Bay Area who generously give their time, talents and resources for the enrichment and benefit of our communities. Please join us in celebrating exemplary leaders in our philanthropic community and our Bay Area giving spirit. 


We invite philanthropic leaders in the Bay Area to join this annual celebration as sponsors, and in doing so pay tribute to exceptional members of our community. Proceeds from National Philanthropy Day help sustain the Golden Gate Chapter of AFP and its year-long professional development programs—supporting fundraising professionals across the region.
View our sponsorship opportunities here.

Support AFP Golden Gate, consider making a gift.

For more information, please contact NPD 2022 Sponsorship Committee Chair, Nicole C. Brown, [email protected].

2022 Honorees and AWARD CATEGORIES

Chris Larsen
Outstanding Philanthropist Award
is presented to an individual or family with a record of exceptional generosity who, through direct financial support, has demonstrated outstanding civic and charitable responsibility, and who encourages others to take philanthropic leadership roles in their communities.

Tim M. Whalen
Hank Rosso Outstanding Fundraising Professional
honors an individual fundraising professional who practices their profession in an exemplary manner.

Children's Health Guild
Outstanding Fundraising Volunteer
is presented to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership skills in coordinating groups of volunteers for major fundraising projects of more than one nonprofit organization. The recipient should demonstrate exceptional skills coordinating and inspiring groups of volunteers for fundraising projects that benefit charitable institutions and show a commitment to the advancement of philanthropy.

Bon Air Greenbrae
Outstanding Corporate Grantmaker
recognizes a corporation or its foundation that displays an outstanding commitment to philanthropy not only through its financial support but also by encouraging and motivating others to take leadership roles in philanthropy and community involvement activities.

Justice Outside
Outstanding Foundation or Grantmaking Professional 
(formerly two separate awards) honors a foundation or grantmaking professional who individually initiates or supports creative nonprofit efforts and works to develop philanthropic partnerships with organizations and communities. This will be a professional whose individual contributions to nonprofit/foundation philanthropic teamwork are exceptionally effective or unique. OR recognizes a private or community foundation or community grantmaking organization that provides financial support, inspiration, encouragement and motivation to nonprofits and grant makers alike – as well as developing innovative approaches to philanthropy.

Tech Exposure & Access Through Mentoring (TEAM)
Groundswell Award
(formerly the Vineyards Award) an outstanding organization or an organization professional with an operating budget of less than $1,000,000, but which is nonetheless effectively addressing serious community problems. This is a visionary group or individual that, through passionate staff commitment and the innovative use of volunteers and/or community partnerships, is an inspirational model for other nonprofits, philanthropic organizations, and individuals.

Kristopher (Kip) Nilsson
Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy
(ages 5-17) recognizes service by an individual or group of young people ages 5 to 17 at the time they are nominated, who demonstrate outstanding commitment to the community through direct financial support, development of charitable programs, volunteering, and leadership in philanthropy.

Kymberly Miller
Emerging Fundraising Leader
(new award)
 A fundraising professional with less than seven years of experience and demonstrates exceptional skill and talent in fundraising, leadership, and a commitment and service to the field.

The Kelsey Civic Center
Impact Award
(new award) 
A collaboration between Bay Area-based nonprofits, activists, funders, and volunteers that uniquely advances a community solution through shared vision and resources with an equity lens. This unique partnership is driven by innovation, new ideas, approaches, and solutions and addresses social issues. NOTE: The award is not necessarily awarded every year.

Roma Guy
Lifetime Achievement
recognizes an outstanding individual for their extraordinary contributions, influential work and ongoing engagement in philanthropy in the San Francisco Bay Area over their lifetime. NOTE: This award is bestowed by the Board of Directors of AFP Golden Gate at the recommendation of the Awards Committee. The award is not necessarily awarded every year. Letters of support are not required or accepted.

Learn more
 about the honorees and awards.
See previous Honorees here.


Call for Tributes deadline has passed. We look forward to recognizing exemplars who have passed in 2022.

Deadline for tributes submissions is WednesdayAugust 31, 2022.


Thank you to the generous sponsors of National Philanthropy Day 2022. Your gracious support make the wonderful 2022 celebration of the Bay Area’s philanthropic community possible! For anyone interested in a sponsorship for NPD 2022, please click on the button below to review the opportunities.














 National Philanthropy Day Co-Chairs 2022
*Nicole C. Brown, California Director of Philanthropy, Trust for Public Land
*Adam-Michael Royston, CFRE, Vice President, LYRIC: Center for LGBTQQ+ Youth

Awards Committee
*Ken Sommer, Director of Advancement, George Mark Children's House
*Lucy Porras, Director of Development & Communications, Mission Economic Development Agency
Marci Atkinson
Jasmine Jones, Abundance
Ziba Marashi, ACLU of Northern California
Cynthia Mei, Children's Health Council
Murrey Nelson, Chanticleer
Janet Harris, Palisade Consultants

Nominating Committee
*Wanda Scott, Founder and Principal Consultant, Wanda Scott and Associates
*Gurpreet Tung, Director of Development, Asian Pacific Fund
Fred Levin, Asian Art Museum of San Francisco & The Shenson Foundation
Katherine Thompson, Grace Cathedral
Dena Vongchanh, Family Giving Tree

Tributes Committee
*Henry Pacheco, Director of Philanthropic Services, Horizons Foundation
*Paul Blaney, Director of Development, Nature Conservancy
Pamela Cook, Cook Silverman Search
Sandy Drew, Nonprofit Consultant
Louise Gregory, UC Berkeley Library
Allyson Halpern, Life Learning Academy
Theresa Nelson, Theresa Nelson Consulting
Rebecca Schuett, San Francisco General Hospital

* Chairs